Terracotta Far East Film Festival 2012, 12-15 April, Prince Charles Cinema, London

Image

The Terracotta Far East Film Festival is now in its third year and boasts an outstanding programme this year with UK, European and International premieres of South Korean, Japanese, Chinese and Taiwanese films. Highlights of the festival include the opening film, My Way (Kang Je-kyu, South Korea: 2011), an outstanding war film from the director of Shiri and Brotherhood, a special preview showing of Studio Guilbi’s latest anime, From Up On Poppy Hill (Kokuriko-zaka kara, Goro Miyazaki, Japan: 2011) and the UK premiere of Kim Ki-duk’s award-winning, documentary, Arirang (South Korea: 2011).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAORmPkSOog

Image

For all us horror fans, there is the Terror-cotta film marathon, co-sponsored by FrightFest on Friday 13th,  which sees premieres of ZOMBIE 108 (Joe Chien, Taiwan: 2012), the Japanese anime Gyo, directed by Hakayuki Hirao and based upon a manga by Junji Ito, perhaps best known in the West for being the author of the manga on which the TOMIE series of films are based as well as a big screen outing for Shimizu’s seminal and incredibly scary, Ju-On: The Grudge (Japan: 2002). There are also some shorts showing including Inchun Oh’s Metamorphosis (which those of you that read my review of it, I loved). So this an evening for all you fans of horror films and of East and Far East Asian cinema that is not to be missed.

Image

In terms of Korean cinema, there is a breakfast double bill on Sunday of Couples (Jeong Yong-ki: 2011) followed by Dancing Queen (Lee Seok-hoon: 2011). This double bill starts at 12 noon, and I am expecting to see many of my fellow Koreanophiles there, including some from my Korean language class that I take at the Korean Cultural Centre in London (that is until I get thrown off the course for lack of progress)!

Image

The festival closes with the UK premiere of Sion Sono’s Himizu (Japan: 2011).

In addition to the film screenings, there are a range of events including a Taiwanese Party, Director Q&A’s and Masterclasses.

I have already booked my festival pass (£60.00), which gives me admission to all of the films and special events. I hope to see some of you there!.

Details of the full programme can be found at:

http://terracottafestival.com/home

I will be updating my site regularly with reviews and news from the festival.

One response to “Terracotta Far East Film Festival 2012, 12-15 April, Prince Charles Cinema, London

  • www.naszaklasa.pl

    You really make it appear really easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really one thing which I think I might never understand. It kind of feels too complex and very wide for me. I’m having a look ahead to your next publish, I will attempt to get the cling of it!

Leave a Reply

